Teaching Bible Teachers

03/09/2019

It was a marvelous day here in South Africa. For this fellow from Idaho where it is winter, it is very hot here. Lucky for me they had not started the water heaters on our side of the campus and I got to have a nice cold shower to start the day. We then shared a bowl of cereal with the students and off we went to this day of lectures. I had the topic of "Getting into the Bible." They only gave us 45 minutes so it was short, but many were thankful for the information I was able to give. I am posting this lesson here. We had a wonderful fellowship with many of the brothers and sisters from the surrounding congregations. There were around 120 brothers and sisters from these congregations who came to learn how to better teach the word of God. I was very encouraged by there observance and wonderful questions.

We then had a short break and then had a Braai with the students, which is a BBQ of chicken and sausage. They had many other tasty dishes to go with this. I learned that rice and corn mashed down is a staple here in South Africa. At dinner we were encouraged to sit with the students and get to know them. I sat with three young ladies who attend the school. They are each from different tribes and two of them are from multiple tribes. One is part of a tribe called Colored because she had tribal and white parents. After this good food and fellowship we went to a cooler part of the building and sang some songs. The first three were in English, the last two were in Zulu and give praise for what God has done for us through Jesus Christ. I did not record the first one, but wish I would have. I have posted this wonderful time of singing for you to enjoy.

Tomorrow, I go to the Soweto church and present a lesson on Elders. In the evening I have been asked to preach at the Benoni church of Christ. I talked to the preacher from Soweto and he was letting me know that it is from this area that many social changes have happened and this is the area where Nelson Mandela lived because of apartheid. It should be another wonderful day.

© 2019 Luke's South Africa Mission Trip. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started