Day of Worship

03/11/2019

What an amazing day of worship here in South Africa. Our group went with the students to four different congregations for worship. I was blessed to speak on elders at Soweto. We had quite the adventure getting to Soweto as a couple of roads were closed and we got lost because of poor internet service. We finally arrived about thirty minutes late and just as I sat down Songezo stopped his teaching and had me go up and teach on elders. It went well, but I was not able to give all the information that I wanted as I had a translator who translated into Zulu. We had many great questions from the congregation and I hope this was a good first step in this congregations efforts to have elders.

After services we went to the Hector Pieterson memorial. Hector was a young man who died in a student march against the treatment of African students who were forced to learn Afrikan and only received a portion of funds compared to the Afrikans. Over six hundred people died during this time and there was much change that happened because of these young students protest. We did not go to the Mandela house/museum because we were told it is always very busy there and our time was limited.

For evening service we went to the Benoni church of Christ to worship. Benoni is a local congregation who has been the biggest local supporter of the Southern Africa Bible College for many years. I had the opportunity to preach for this wonderful congregation on the authority of Jesus in Matthew chapter twenty one. They were very gracious to me and invited me back to preach for them anytime. We then had some left overs and had some wonderful Zulu singing by the students which I have shared. You may be able to guess the tune as these are songs that we sing that have been translated into Zulu. Tomorrow we get to spend time with the students in their class environment and have lunch with them and former students.

© 2019 Luke's South Africa Mission Trip. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started